## Alumni News

## **Board** Nominations

The Board of Directors of the Alumni Association met as a Nominating Committee on February 22, 1966, in accordance with Section 5.01 of the By-Laws. Eight vacancies will occur on the Board at the end of the fiscal year, June 1966. Four of these vacancies will be filled by the Immediate Past President, President, Secretary, and Treasurer, ex officio, and four will be filled by direct election. The present members of the Board, with the years their terms expire are:

James L. Adams '55	1966	Robert W. Lynam '54	1967
Donald S. Clark '29	1966	John L. Mason '47	1966
Theodore C. Combs '27	1967	John T. McGraw '38	1966
Patrick I. Fazio '53	1966	Paul D. Saltman '49	1967
John R. Fee '51	1966	Richard P. Schuster, Jr. '46	1967

The following nominations have been made:

President-Sidney K. Gally '41	(1 year
Vice President-Frederic T. Selleck '49	(1 year
Secretary–Donald S. Clark '29	(1 year
Treasurer–John R. Fee '51	(1 year
Director–Donald D. Davidson '38	(2 years
Director-Manfred Eimer '47	(2 years
Director–Craig T. Elliott '58	(2 years
Director-Frank W. Lehan '44	(2 years

Section 5.01 of the By-Laws provides that the membership may make additional nominations for the four (4) Directors by petition signed by at least twenty-five (25) members in good standing, provided the petition is received by the Secretary not later than April 15. In accordance with Section 5.02 of the By-Laws, if further nominations are not received by April 15, the Secretary casts a unanimous ballot for the members nominated by the Board. Otherwise a letter ballot is required.

Statements about the nominees are presented below.

-Donald S. Clark, Secretary



DONALD B. DAVIDSON received his BS in chemistry in 1938. He spent the next 14 years with the Shell Companies: from 1938-40 as a junior research engineer with Shell Development in southern California; from 1940-42 as assistant head of the chemical division of Shell Oil and Shell Chemical in Houston; and from 1942-52 as research super-

visor for Shell Development in California. In 1952 he joined the Golden Bear Oil Company of Los Angeles where he is currently vice president of manufacturing and engineering. He served as a member of the program committee for the Alumni seminar in 1954.



MANFRED EIMER received his BS in mechanical engineering in 1947, and his MS and PhD degrees in aeronautics, in 1948 and in 1953. For the next ten years he was with Caltech's Jet Propulsion Laboratory and in 1962 was assigned by JPL to NASA's Office of Manned Space Flight in Washington, D.C., as a part of the Apollo program. In 1963 he

joined the Space-General Corp. of El Monte and was recently appointed vice president, engineering, of the firm. He has twice served on the program committee of the Alumni Seminar—as a member in 1954 and as chairman in 1957.



CRAIG T. ELLIOTT received his BS in mechanical engineering in 1958 and was ASCIT president in his junior year. In 1956 he joined Wiancko Engineering of Pasadena (now the technical products division of Whittaker Corp. in Los Angeles) as an engineer trainee. He has subsequently served as project engineer, manager of produc-

tion engineering, and manager of transducer engineering. He is now director of transducer engineering. In 1965 he was chairman of the program committee of the Alumni Seminar, and this year he is assistant general chairman of the Seminar.



FRANK LEHAN received his BS in electrical engineering in 1944, and for the next ten years was at Caltech's Jet Propulsion Laboratory working in the fields of telemetry, telecommunications, and electronics research. The following four years he was with Space Technology Laboratories in Redondo Beach (now TRW Systems), where he was as-

sociate director for the electronics laboratories on the ballistic missile programs. In 1958 he was co-founder of the Space-General Corp. of El Monte, a subsidiary of Aerojet General Corporation, and became its president in 1962.