ALUMNI NEWS

Board Nominations

The Board of Directors of the Alumni Association met as a Nominating Committee on February 28, 1967, in accordance with Section 5.01 of the By-Laws. Eight vacancies will occur on the Board at the end of the fiscal year, June 1967. Four of these vacancies will be filled by the Immediate Past President, President, Secretary, and Treasurer, ex officio, and four will be filled by direct election. The present members of the board, with the years their terms expire are:

Donald S. Clark '29	1967	Sidney K. Gally '41	1968
Theodore C. Combs '27	1967	Robert W. Lynam '54	1967
Donald D. Davidson '38	1968	Paul D. Saltman '49	1967
Manfred Eimer '47	1968	Richard P. Schuster, Jr. '46	1967
Craig T. Elliott '58	1968	Frederic T. Selleck '49	1968
John R. Fee '51	1967	Martin H. Webster '37	1968

Horace W. Baker received his BS in mechanical engineering in 1935. After his graduation he joined the firm of J. T. Thorpe, Inc., engineering contractors specializing in high temperature furnace installations. He became president of the firm in 1958. He served on the Alumni Seminar committee in 1956 and again in 1963, and last year he was





The following nominations have been made:

President-Frederic T. Selleck '49	(1 year)
Vice President-Donad D. Davidson '38	(1 year)
Secretary-Donald S. Clark '29	(1 year)
Treasurer-John R. Fee '51	(1 year)
Director—Fred C. Anson '54	(2 years)
Director-Horace W. Baker '35	(2 years)
Director-William F. Chapin '41	(2 years)
Director-Robert C. Perpall '52	(2 years)

Section 5.01 of the By-Laws provides that the membership may make additional nominations for the four (4) Directors by petition signed by at least twenty-five (25) members in good standing, provided the petition is received by the Secretary not later than April 15. In accordance with Section 5.02 of the By-Laws, if further nominations are not received by April 15, the Secretary casts a unanimous ballot for the members nominated by the Board. Otherwise a letter ballot is required.

Statements about the nominees are presented below.

-Donald S. Clark, Secretary

WILLIAM F. CHAPIN received his BS degree in applied chemistry in 1941 and was ASCIT vice president in his senior year. From graduation until 1944 he was a process engineer at the Permanente Metals Corp. magnesium plant near Los Altos, Calif. He then joined The Fluor Corporation, Ltd., as a process engineer in Los Angeles and

has remained with this engineering and construction firm since that time. From 1948 to 1957 he was chief process engineer of the Houston division; from 1958 to 1962 was manager of projects in Los Angeles; and since 1963 has been vice president of process engineering and development. In 1966 he served as a member of the alumni study group.



Fred C. Anson received his BS in chemistry in 1954 at Caltech and his MS and PhD from Harvard in 1955 and 1957. He joined the Caltech faculty in 1957 as an instructor in the division of chemistry and chemical engineering, becoming assistant professor the following year and associate professor in 1964. He has been a Fellow of the John Simon Gug-

genheim Foundation and is now an Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Research Fellow. His primary research interests lie in electrochemistry and electroanalytical chemistry. He is the alumni athletic representative for 1966-67.

ROBERT C. PERPALL received his BS in mechanical engineering in 1952. He received his MS in 1956, while on leave of absence from the Garrett Corporation. In 1960 he joined the Cosmodyne Corporation as senior project engineer and subsequently became vice president of the La Fleur Corporation. In 1962 he rejoined the Garrett Corporation as



part of the Apollo Program. He is now system engineer on the C-5 Environmental Control System. This year he is general chairman of the Alumni Seminar, having served as assistant program chairman in 1966 and as a member of the program committee in 1964 and 1965.