Random Walk

Three Professorships Endowed

THREE PROFESSORS have been **L** appointed to newly established chairs. Ronald F. Scott has been named the Dotty and Dick Hayman Professor of Engineering. Scott, who joined the Caltech faculty in 1958, is known for his work in soil mechanics and dynamics. The professorship was established by a gift from Mr. and Mrs. Richard L. Hayman, who are active members of The Associates and had also previously endowed a chair in mechanical engineering. Mr. Hayman studied mechanical engineering at Caltech.

Astronomer Maarten Schmidt, Institute Professor of Astronomy since 1981, has been appointed the first Francis L. Moseley Professor of Astronomy. The chair was endowed with a grant from the Flintridge Foundation and is named for a pioneering electronics engineer who was a life member of The Associates. Schmidt, a member of the Caltech faculty since 1959, discovered the large red shift of quasars, thus determining that quasars are the brightest and most distant objects in an expanding universe.

Caltech recently established the Marvin L. Goldberger Professorship to honor its departing president. The chair was made possible through a gift from John G Braun, trustee of the Carl F Braun Trust. Members of the Braun family have made numerous major contributions to Caltech since 1926, when the Carl F Brauns were among the charter members of The Associates. John G Braun is former president, chairman and chief executive officer of C F Braun and Company and a life member of the Caltech board of trustees.

James J. Morgan, professor of environmental engineering, whose research is in the field of aquatic pollu-











Scott

Schmidt

Morgan

Patterson

tants and water purification, has been named the first Goldberger Professor. Morgan joined the Caltech faculty in 1965 and is also currently vice president for student affairs.

Olson Named Trustee

James E. Olson, chairman and chief executive officer of American Telephone and Telegraph, has been named to Caltech's board of trustees. Olson, who is a graduate of the University of North Dakota, has worked in the telephone and telecommunications business since 1943 when he was hired as a splicer's helper. He became vice president and general manager in Northwestern Bell Telephone Company's Iowa area in 1964 and vice president, operations, for Indiana Bell in 1970. He became president of that company two years later and president of Illinois Bell in 1974. In 1977 he was named executive vice president of AT&T headquarters, vice chairman of the board in 1979, and vice president and chief operating officer in 1985. Olson assumed his current position in September 1986.

Faculty Awards

SEOCHEMIST CLAIR PATTERSON Was Uelected to the National Academy of Sciences. Patterson, who joined Caltech in 1952, is known for establishing the age of the earth and for emphasizing the dangers of industrial lead pollution.

Two Caltech faculty members — Gene Broadwell, senior scientist in aeronautics, and Gary Leal, the Chevron Professor of Chemical Engineering - have been named to the National Academy of Engineering.

Ahmed Zewail, professor of chemical physics, has been awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship. In addition to the two that were announced in the previous issue, Christof Koch, assistant professor of computation and neural systems, has been awarded a fellowship from the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.

Among faculty members awarded honorary degrees at various commencements are: Harry Gray — University of Chicago and University of Rochester; Jesse Greenstein -University of Arizona; and G.J. Wasserburg - Arizona State University.

Random Walk (continued)

Ernest Swift, Mrs. Lauritsen Die

ERNEST HAYWOOD SWIFT, professor of analytical chemistry, emeritus, died April 26 at the age of 89. He had come to Caltech as a graduate student and teaching fellow in 1919 and had been associated with the Institute longer than any other person.

Swift received his MS in 1920 and PhD in 1924. He served on the faculty as an instructor since 1920, becoming assistant professor in 1928, associate professor in 1939, and professor in 1943. Since 1967 he had been professor emeritus. He was also chairman of the Division of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering from 1958 to 1963 and chairman of the faculty from 1963 to 1965.

Those wishing to make a donation in his memory may send it to Caltech's Division of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering for the Ernest H. Swift Lecture Series.

SIGRID LAURITSEN, widow of Charles Lauritsen, and mother of the late Thomas Lauritsen, died March 11 at the age of 95. Both her husband and son were professors of physics and founders of Caltech's famed Kellogg Radiation Laboratory. She was an MD in her own right.

Friends may make contributions to the Lauritsen Memorial Fund, which supports a guest lecturer every other year.

Student Honors

Among the top 20 winners of *Time* magazine's annual College Achievement Awards (see inside back cover) was Eric Gaidos. Gaidos, an applied physics major, is one of a group of Caltech students involved in designing an unmanned balloon to explore the Martian surface (*E&S* March 1987). Each award winner, chosen on the basis of academic excellence and exceptional achievement, receives \$2,500. Runners-up in the competition included Brian Daniels,



When the fog lifted May 19, a peculiar sight greeted Monday-morning commuters. In place of the famous HOLLYWOOD sign the name of a well-known institution famous for pranks stood revealed. When E&S went to press, the perpetrators were still unknown.

an economics major, and Vineer Bhansali, a physics major. All three are juniors.

All four Caltech seniors who submitted creative projects in application for the Thomas J. Watson Foundation's travel/study fellowships were chosen to be among the 80 winners. Each will receive \$11,000 for nine months of independent foreign research and travel.

Mark Carlin, an applied physics major, will spend a year in Europe learning the sport of luge and the skills of luge sled design. Joey Francis plans to study the process of rain forest destruction in Borneo, portraying the dynamics of rain forest life through photography and writing. His major is literature and applied science.

Rosemary Macedo, an independent studies major in optics, will spend the year participating in international expeditions to study the physical dynamics of the ocean, and physics major Andrew Tikofsky will travel to Israel, Germany, and Eastern Europe. He is interested in how various political minorities are treated and how that treatment affects their life choices and identification with their minority group.

Distinguished Alumni

A T CALTECH'S 50th Seminar Day May 16, five alumni received Distinguished Alumni Awards. These awards, the Institute's highest honor, are conferred in recognition of achievement in science, engineering, business, or public service. This year the recipients were:

- James E. Lu Valle, director of the Stanford undergraduate chemistry teaching program for many years;
- •Morris Muskat, retired technical adviser in the Gulf Oil Corporation and highly regarded for his technical contributions to the petroleum industry:
- •Stanley C. Pace, chairman and chief executive officer of General Dynamics Corporation;
- ●Alvin W. Trivelpiece, executive officer of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and former director of the Office of Energy Research, U.S. Department of Energy; ●John Waugh, the Arthur Amos Noyes Professor of Chemistry at MIT, noted for his pioneering nuclear magnetic resonance techniques.