## Honors and Awards

Alexei Borodin, professor of mathematics, has been invited to give the 2006–07 Porter Lectures at Rice University. He will give five lectures over two weeks on topics of his own choosing, with the first intended for a general audience and the remaining four for mathematicians.

Jean-Lou Chameau, president of Caltech and professor of civil engineering and environmental science and engineering, has been selected to receive the Prix Nessim Habif from the Société des Ingénieurs Arts et Métiers. The honor brings with it a prize of 3,000 euros. Chameau also has been unanimously elected to the board of directors of the Los Angeles World Affairs Council, which promotes greater understanding of global issues by providing an open forum in Los Angeles for influential figures in world affairs.

Roc Cutri, member of the professional staff and deputy executive director of the Infrared Processing and Analysis Center (IPAC), has been chosen by the National Academy of Sciences to be a corecipient of the James Craig Watson Medal, which includes a prize of \$25,000 plus \$25,000 to support the recipient's research. He and Michael Skrutskie, an astronomy professor at the University of Virginia, have been honored "for their monumental work in developing and completing the Two Micron All-Sky Survey, thus enabling a thrilling variety of explorations in astronomy and astrophysics."

Roy Gould, (BS '49, PhD '56) Ramo Professor of Engineering, Emeritus, and Brian Stoltz, associate professor of chemistry, have been elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science in the Section on Physics and the Section on Chemistry, respectively.

John Grotzinger, the Jones Professor of Geology, has been selected to receive the Charles Doolittle Walcott Medal in recognition of his "insightful elucidation of ancient carbonates and the stromatolites they contain, and for meticulous field research that has established the timing of early animal evolution." Awarded by the National Academy of Sciences every five years, the honor includes a prize of \$10,000.

Sergei Gukov, associate professor of theoretical physics and mathematics, has been selected to receive a Sloan Research Fellowship from the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation. Established in 1955, the fellowships "are intended to enhance the careers of the very best young faculty members in specified fields of science."

Wilfred D. Iwan (BS '57, PhD '61), professor of applied mechanics, emeritus, and director of the Earthquake Engineering Research Lab, has been chosen to receive the George W. Housner Medal, the most prestigious award bestowed by the Earthquake Engineering Research Institute. Housner (MS '34, PhD '41), the Braun Professor of Engineering, Emeritus, is often called "the father of earthquake engineering." The award in his name recognizes extraordinary and lasting contributions to public earthquake safety."

Marc Kamionkowski, Robinson Professor of Theoretical Physics and Astrophysics, has been named a recipient of the U.S. Department of Energy's Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award. The honor recognizes his work on "how precise observations of the cosmic microwave background radiation can lead to deeper understanding of the origin and evolution of the universe." The award consists of a gold medal, a citation, and an honorarium of \$50,000.

**Henry Lester**, Bren Professor of Biology, has received the Kenneth S. Cole Award

from the Membrane Biophysics Subgroup of the Biophysical Society. The award is given annually to an investigator "who has made a substantial contribution to knowledge of membranes."

Olexei Motrunich, associate professor of theoretical physics, has been selected to receive a Sloan Research Fellowship from the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation. Established in 1955, the fellowships "are intended to enhance the careers of the very best young faculty members in specified fields of science."