Random Walk



Honors and Awards

Norman Davidson, Chandler Professor of Chemical Biology, Emeritus, and Interim Chairman of the Division of Biology, has won the 1989 Robert A. Welch Foundation Award in chemistry.

Charles Elachi, lecturer in electrical engineering and assistant lab director for JPL's office of space science and instruments, has been elected to the National Academy of Engineering.

President Thomas Everhart has been chosen by the American Society for Engineering Education for its 1989 Benjamin Garver Lamme Award.

Leroy Hood, Bowles Professor of Biology and Director of the Center for the Development of an Integrated Protein and Nucleic Acid Biotechnology has been selected for the 1989 Cetus Corporation Biotechnology Research Award.

Professor of Theoretical Physics Steven Koonin has been named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Edward Lewis, Morgan Professor of Biology, Emeritus, has been elected a Foreign Member of the Royal Society of London.

Professor of Chemical Engineering Manfred Morari has received the 1989 Curtis W. McGraw Research Award of the American Society for Engineering Education.

Four faculty members have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences. The election of Professor of Chemistry Robert Grubbs, Hayman Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Professor of Jet Propulsion Frank Marble, Moore Professor of Computer Science Carver Mead, and Professor of Chemical Physics Ahmed Zewail brings to 60 the number of Caltech faculty in the Academy.

Seven faculty members have been named Presidential Young Investigators by the National Science Foundation, out of a nationwide pool of 197 applicants. They are Frances Arnold, assistant professor of chemical engineering; Harry Atwater, assistant professor of applied physics; Geoffrey Blake, assistant professor of cosmochemistry; Melany Hunt, assistant professor of mechanical engineering; Andrew Myers, assistant professor of chemistry; Mitchio Okumura, assistant professor of chemical physics; and Stephen Wiggins, assistant professor of applied mechanics.

Senior Craig Sosin is one of 20 winners of *Time* magazine's annual College Achievement Awards.

Distinguished Alumni

Five Distinguished Alumni Awards were given this year. James J. Duderstadt (MS '65, PhD '68), president of the University of Michigan; Max V. Mathews (BS '50), of Stanford University's Center for Computer Research in Music and Acoustics; Robert L. Noland (BS '41), president and CEO of Ketema, Inc.; Cornelius J. Pings (BS '51, MS '52, PhD '55), senior vice president for academic affairs and provost at the University of Southern California; and Donald C. Shreffler (PhD '62), professor of genetics at the Washington University School of Medicine, join 104 alumni so honored.

As the largest graduating class in Caltech history, 231 students received BS degrees at the 95th commencement exercises. The Institute also awarded 151 MS degrees and 134 PhDs at the June 16 ceremonv. The commencement address was delivered by James J. Duderstadt (MS '65, PhD '68), president of the **University of Michi**gan. Here, Caltech **President Thomas E.** Everhart congratulates a graduate.

Oops!

In the last issue of E&S Paul Bellan's letter in response to a statement that there had been negligible progress in nuclear fusion contained the sentence: "Although there have indeed been instances of optimism, in general the scientists involved have realized that fusion research, being one of the most challenging technical problems addressed by man, would take both a long time and much effort before success would be achieved." This should have read "excessive optimism." We regret the error, but correcting it gives us the opportunity to note that Bellan's letter was dated March 21, ironically just on the eve of the most excessive optimism of all.