# Random Walk

#### Honors and Awards

Don and Anderson, professor of geophysics and director of the seismological laboratory, received the highest honor that Britian's Royal Astronomical Society can bestow, its Gold Medal. Anderson was cited "in recognition of research and leadership in the field of seismology, in particular for investigation into the structure and physical parameters of Earth's deep interior."

Sunney Chan, professor of chemical physics and biophysical chemistry, has been elected a Fellow of the American Physical Society for his work on applying the resonance methods of physics to a wide variety of biological and chemical problems.

Leroy Hood, Ethel Wilson Bowles and Robert Bowles Professor of Biology and chairman of the Division of Biology, has received the Miami Biotechnology Winter Symposium's Distinguished Service Award for 1988. The Symposium is sponsored jointly by the University of Miami's Department of Biochemistry and the Papanicolaou Comprehensive Cancer Center. The award honored Hood's contributions to synthesis and sequencing technology for genes.

John Hopfield, Dickinson Professor of Chemistry and Biology, won the 1988 Michelson-Morley Award, presented annually by Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland, Ohio. The award recognizes research that has contributed significantly to the advancement of knowledge and to human welfare. The award includes a plaque and a \$5,000 prize.

Assistant Professor of Astronomy Shrinivas Kulkarni has been awarded the Booker Prize. The award, which is given every three years by the U.S. National Committee of the USRI (International Scientific Radio Union) for outstanding work in radiophysics, includes a \$2,000 prize.

Robert Leighton, the William L. Valentine Professor of Physics, Emeritus, has been granted the 1988 James Craig Watson Medal. The National Academy of Sciences established the medal in 1887, and awards it every three years for contributions to astronomy. Leighton's contributions include creating and exploiting "new instruments and techniques that have opened new areas of astronomy to us all—solar oscillations, infrared surveys, spun telescopes, and large millimeterwave reflectors." The bronze medal also includes a \$15,000 prize.

The tenth year of Caltech's Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship (SURF) program has been dedicated to Professor of Biology, Emeritus Ray Owen in recognition of his outstanding commitment to undergraduate education.

Professor of Mathematics, Emeritus Olga Taussky-Todd will be granted an honorary Doctor of Science degree by the University of Southern California on May 6.

Professor of Mathematics Hugh Woodin has been named co-recipient of the 1988 Carol Karp Prize by the Association of Symbolic Logic. The prize is presented every five years in recognition of a connected body of research. Woodin's work "establishes from the existence of a supercompact cardinal that the Axiom of Determinacy holds in the smallest transitive model of ZF containing all reals and all ordinals."

### Feynman Memorial Fund Established

IN RECOGNITION OF OF Richard Feynman's 38 years on the Caltech faculty, the Institute has established a memorial fund in his name. In addition, Feynman's family has expressed gratitude for the life-prolonging care provided to the late physicist by Dr. Donald Morton, who directs cancer research at UCLA. Checks payable to Caltech may be sent to the Richard P. Feynman Memorial Fund, Caltech 105-40, Pasadena, CA 91125. And contributions may also be sent to the Richard Feynman Memorial Fund at the UCLA John Wayne Cancer Clinic, Village Station, Box 24177, Los Angeles, CA 90024.

# Programming Team Wins Competition

A TEAM OF CALTECH students has won the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) Scholastic Programming Contest for the second time in three years. This year's contest was held in Atlanta, Georgia, on February 24, and pitted teams from 24 schools against eight problems to be solved within six hours. The Techers were the only team to solve all six problems correctly in the allotted time—in five hours, 17 minutes, to be exact.

The team consisted of David Gillespie (a graduate student in computer science and team captain), Scott Hemphill (graduate student, computer science), Adam Greenblatt (senior, biology), and Ron Goodman (junior, computer science). Professor of Computer Science Charles L. Seitz was faculty advisor.

The team had previously won the southern California regional competition on November 14, 1987. Only the top two teams from each region advanced to the finals. The other southern California finalist was UCLA, who finished sixth.

Caltech began fielding teams in 1986, winning that year and finishing fourth in 1987.

# Random Walk (continued)



On a recent trip east, President Everhart spoke on technology and national competitiveness at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C. Everhart also addressed 170 alumni and guests of the Alumni Association's just-organized Boston chapter. He later met 100 alumni and guests of the D.C. chapter at a reception at the National Academy of Sciences.

#### Ramo's AAES Award Donated to Caltech

Trustee and visiting professor of management science at Caltech, has been given the National Engineering Award by the American Association of Engineering Societies (AAES). The award, one of the profession's highest honors, was presented at the AAES's annual awards luncheon in Washington, D.C., on April 6. The award includes a \$5,000 honorarium, which Ramo is donating to the Institute.

Ramo graduated from the University of Utah with highest honors before coming to Caltech, where he earned a PhD magna cum laude in electrical engineering. He began his engineering career at General Electric, accumulating 25 patents before he was 30. Ramo moved to the budding aerospace industry, where he organized Hughes Aircraft Company's electronics and missile operations. In 1953, he co-founded The Ramo-Wooldridge Corporation (later TRW Inc.), and served on its board of directors until his retirement. Ramo became one of the nation's top experts on guided missiles, and was the chief scientist for the development of the Intercontinental Ballistic Missile (ICBM) system. Ramo is a founding member of the National Academy of Engineering. has received the National Medal of Science, and has been a key advisor to the nation's government on science and technology.

## Cram to Give Beckman Lecture

Donald Cram, winner of the 1987 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his research in host-guest chemistry, will give the Beckman Lecture for 1988. The lecture is open to the public, and will be at 4:00 PM, Wednesday, May 4, in Gates Laboratory. Cram, a faculty member at UCLA, will speak on "Organic Container Compounds."

The Beckman Lectureship was established in 1985. Past Beckman Lecturers include Elias James Corey of Harvard (1985), Jerrold Meinwald of Cornell (1986), and Ronald Breslow of Columbia (1987).

# IMMORTALIZE YOUR SLIDE RULE



SLIDE RULE DISPLAY CASE of solid hardwood with natural oak finish, velvet lined, glass protected and personalized with an engraved brass plate.

- Overall size 19"x 8"x 1¾"
- A smart addition to an office wall
- A great business gift

Send check or money order for \$39.95 plus \$4.25 shipping/handling, along with shipping address and engraving instructions (i.e., your name, college and year of graduation; maximum 2 lines, 20 characters each line) to: Engineering Enterprises

P.O. Box 124
Chesterland, Ohio 44026
Allow 4 to 6 weeks for delivery.
Wholesale prices available on request.
Money back guarantee.
Slide rule not included.