Random Walk

Honors and Awards

Four faculty members have received Sloan Research Fellowships for 1996. Assistant Professor of Chemistry Erick Carreira, Associate Professor of Mathematics Matthias Flach, Assistant Professor of Computer Science Peter Schröder, and Assistant Professor of Chemical Engineering Zhen-Gang Wang join 96 other exceptional scientists nationwide who were named Sloan Fellows this year.

John Abelson, the Beadle Professor of Biology, has received the Alumni Achievement Award from Washington State University, his undergraduate alma mater, in honor of his contributions "to the understanding of protein biosynthesis."

Thomas Ahrens (MS '58), professor of geophysics, has been awarded the Harry E. Hess Medal of the American Geophysical Union for "outstanding achievements in research in the constitution and evolution of Earth and sister planets."

William Bridges, the Braun Professor of Engineering, has received a Distinguished Engineering Alumnus Award from UC Berkeley's Engineering Alumni Society. Bridges's three-time alma mater cited his leadership role at Hughes Aircraft Company in the 1960s in the discovery of a series of noble gas ion lasers, still used extensively in airborne systems.

Peter Dervan, the Bren Professor of

Chemistry, is a corecipient (with Claude Hèléne of France's National Museum of Natural History) of the Grand Prix, awarded annually by France's Fondation de la Maison de la Chimie.

Matthias Flach, associate professor of mathematics, was awarded the Heinz-Maier-Leibnitz Prize by the German Ministry for Development, Science, Research, and Technology for "A Finiteness Theorem for the Symmetric Square of an Elliptic Curve."

Caroline Fohlin, assistant professor of economics, has been awarded the inaugural Gino Luzzato Prize for her dissertation "Financial Intermediation, Investment, and Industrial Development: Universal Banking in Germany and Italy from Unification to World War I." The award is given by the European Association of Historical Economics for "the best PhD dissertation in European economic history."

Kevin Gilmartin, associate professor of literature, has been awarded the Arnold L. and Lois P. Graves Award, which seeks to encourage innovative scholarship in the humanities by young professors at liberal arts institutions on the West Coast.

Harry Gray, the Beckman Professor of Chemistry and director of the Beckman Institute, has been inducted into Western Kentucky University's Hall of Distinguished Alumni. Gray received his bachelor's degree from Western Kentucky in 1957.

Michael Hoffmann, professor of environmental chemistry, has been named the E. Gordon Young Distinguished Lecturer at three Canadian universities—Alberta, Calgary, and Regina.

Wolfgang Knauss (BS '58, MS '59,

PhD '63), professor of aeronautics and applied mechanics, has been named a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

Julia Kornfield (BS '83, MS '84), associate professor of chemical engineering, has been awarded the American Physical Society's John N. Dillon Medal for Research in Polymer Physics.

Gordon Moore (PhD '54), chair of the Caltech Board of Trustees and chairman of the board of the Intel Corp., is one of 10 distinguished Americans to receive the Horatio Alger Award. The award honors individuals who have triumphed over great adversity in their lives to achieve remarkable success.

Gerry Neugebauer (PhD '60), Millikan Professor of Physics, has been given the American Astronomical Society's Henry Norris Russell Lectureship.

Ares Rosakis, professor of aeronautics and applied mechanics, has been awarded the Society for Experimental Mechanics' B. J. Lazan Award. The award is given to "individuals who have made outstanding original technical contributions to experimenal mechanics."

Kip Thorne (BS '62), the Feynman Professor of Theoretical Physics, will be awarded the Julius Edgar Lilienfeld Prize by the American Physical Society at the APS spring meeting on May 4. (Valentine Telegdi, a longtime Caltech visiting associate in physics and presently a faculty associate, won last year's prize.) Thorne was cited for "contributing significantly to the theoretical understanding of such topics as black holes, gravitational radiation and quantum nondemolition measurements... and for conveying lucidly the excitement of these topics to professional and lay audiences alike.".