HONORS AND AWARDS

For her work at the interface of chemistry and biology, Jacqueline Barton, the Arthur and Marian Hanisch Memorial Professor and professor of chemistry, has been awarded the 1997 Nichols Medal by the New York Section of the American Chemical Society. She is the first woman to receive the award in its 95-year history.

Erick Carreira, associate professor of chemistry, has received the National Fresenius Award from the Virginia Polytechnic Institute.

Samuel Epstein, the William E. Leonhard Professor of Geology, Emeritus, has been elected a Foreign Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada by the members of the Society's Academy of Science.

Peter Dervan, the Bren Professor of Chemistry and chair of the Division of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, has been elected to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences. Membership is based on professional achievement and on involvement with issues that affect public health.

Morteza Gharib, PhD '83, professor of aeronautics, and Paul Sternberg, professor of biology and investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, have each received

\$100,000 one-year grants from the Seaver Institute. Gharib's grant will support his "Implantable Heart Pump" project; Sternberg's grant is for a one-year extension of his research project in molecular genetics, "Genetics of Genes in Cancer Cells.' Established in 1955 by Frank R. Seaver, the Seaver Institute focuses its giving program on four essential areas: scientific and medical research, education, public affairs, and the cultural arts.

Kevin Gilmartin, associate professor of literature, has received the 1996–97 Arnold L. and Lois P. Graves Award in the Humanities from the American Council of Learned Societies.

Emlyn Hughes, associate professor of physics, has received a Sloan Fellowship from the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation of New York City. The fellowships, awarded for studies in science, technology, economics, and public policy, include \$35,000 in unrestricted research funds.

John Ledyard, professor of economics and social sciences and chair of the Division of the Humanities and Social Sciences, and David Porter, visiting associate in economics, have been selected by Koc University of Istanbul as joint winners for 1996 of the Koc

University Annual Prize for Best Paper in Economic Design. Entitled "The Allocation of a Shared Resource Within an Organization," the paper was written with Charles Noussair.

David Middlebrook, professor of electrical engineering, has been selected to receive the 1997 Richard P. Feynman Prize for Excellence in Teaching. The prize, made possible by an endowment from Caltech Associates Ione and Robert Paradise, is awarded annually for "unusual ability, creativity, and innovation in undergraduate and graduate classroom and laboratory teaching." The Feynman Prize selection committee cited Middlebrook's 40-year history of teaching not just a body of knowledge, but a way of thinking-"how to simplify complex subjects, and how to marry theory and experiment."

Edward Stone, Caltech vice president, director of JPL, and the David Morrisroe Professor of Physics, has been inducted into the Aviation Week and Space Technology Hall of Fame.

Four Caltech faculty were recently elected fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences: Pamela Bjorkman, associate professor of biology and associate inves-

tigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute; Andrew Ingersoll, professor of planetary science; Jerrold Marsden, professor of control and dynamical systems; and Douglas Rees, professor of chemistry. The Academy is an honorary society that recognizes achievement in the natural sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, and conducts a varied program of projects and studies responsive to the needs and problems of society.

Recipients of the 21st annual ASCIT teaching awards from the Associated Students of Caltech were Glen George, BS '81 and '82, lecturer in computer science and electrical engineering: Kevin Gilmartin, associate professor of literature; Emlyn Hughes, associate professor of physics; Charles Steidel, PhD '90, associate professor of astronomy; and Richard Wilson, professor of mathematics. In addition, ASCIT recognized two outstanding graduate teaching assistants: Sean Mauch, applied math, and Brian McKeever, mathematics.

The Graduate Student Council (GSC) bestowed its 1997 teaching awards on James Beck, PhD '78, professor of applied math and civil engineering, and Kenneth Farley, associate professor of geochemistry. Kerry Vahala, BS '80, PhD '85, professor of applied physics, and Simon Wilkie, assistant professor of economics, received GSC's mentor awards, which recognize "those professors who display a commitment to the personal side of their students' education and who offer steadfast guidance at the beginning of the student's career." Awards for outstanding graduate student teaching assistant went to Amit Manwani, Sam Roweis, and Erik Winfree, all of computation and neural systems; and Dave Polidori and Mike Vanik, both of applied mechanics.