

Andrea Goldsmith Raymond Deshaies

HONORS AND AWARDS

New Business, Finance VP Named



William A. Jenkins has been appointed vice president for business and finance.

Jenkins has been vice chancellor for administration at Vanderbilt University since 1984 and has held an adjunct professorship of management in the Owen Graduate School of Management since 1988. As a general officer of the university, he is directly responsible for activities encompassing finance, business, technology, human resources, and facilities; he

has also been involved in fundraising, academics, student life, athletics, and legal, community, and public relations. In 1990 he created the Vanderbilt University Leadership Development Forum, which provides leadership training for academic and administrative staff throughout the university.

Before joining Vanderbilt, Jenkins spent seven years at North Carolina State University as assistant and then associate vice chancellor for finance and business, and before that was business manager and assistant to the vice president for campus affairs at Cornell University.

Coauthor of the book, *The Eagle and the Monk: Seven Principles* of *Successful Change*, Jenkins is a recognized speaker, consultant, and authority on the subject of leadership and values. He is also coauthor of *Managing the Hidden Organization* and is author or coauthor of numerous articles in popular, higher-education, and business publications. Honored for his activities in the areas of race relations and the advancement of women, Jenkins is also a Purdue University Distinguished Alumnus. He earned his master's and PhD degrees from Purdue, and his bachelor's degree from Indiana State University. Jacqueline Barton, the Arthur and Marian Hanisch Memorial Professor and professor of chemistry, has been elected a member of the American Philosophical Society "for her achievements in science."

Roger Blandford, the Richard Chace Tolman Professor of Theoretical Astrophysics, has received the Royal Astronomical Society's Eddington Medal for Theoretical Astronomy.

Raymond Deshaies, assistant professor of biology, in July 1997 was awarded the 1997 Burroughs Wellcome New Investigator Award in the Basic Pharmacological Sciences.

Professor of Chemistry Dennis Dougherty and Professor of Economics and Social Sciences John Ledyard, who is also chair of the Division of the Humanities and Social Sciences, have been elected fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Peter Goldreich, the Lee A. DuBridge Professor of Astrophysics and Planetary Physics, has been selected by the department of astronomy at the University of Texas, Austin, to receive the Eighth Award of the Antoinette de Vaucouleurs Memorial Lectureship and Medal. "Known as one of the preeminent theoretical astrophysicists in the world," Goldreich is "especially acclaimed for the diverse areas to which he has made fundamental contributions. His work is both mathematically rigorous and resonant with deep physical insight." His many other honors include the National Medal of Science.

Andrea Goldsmith, assistant professor of electrical engineering, has been selected as an Office of Naval Research Young Investigator "for her exceptional promise for an outstanding research and teaching career."

Robert Grubbs, the Victor and Elizabeth Atkins Professor of Chemistry, has won the 1998 prize from Fluka Chemie AG, Switzerland, for his development of the reagent of the year, "a novel olefin metathesis catalyst based on a ruthenium carbene complex."

Bruce Hay, assistant professor of biology, in February 1998 was awarded the 1998 Burroughs Wellcome Fund New Investigator Award in the Biological Sciences.

Alice Huang, senior councilor for external relations and

1647



Kerry Sieh



Anneila Sargent

faculty associate in biology, has received the 1999 Achievement Award from the Chinese-American Faculty Association of Southern California, for "her outstanding contribution" to microbiology and "her dedicated leadership in higher education." She was recognized at the association's 28th annual convention, where she gave the keynote speech, "New Challenges for Chinese-American Activism."

Emlyn Hughes, associate professor of physics, has received the Richard P. Feynman Prize for Excellence in Teaching "for his outstanding ability to teach the mysterious nature of quantum mechanics to a broad audience, as evidenced by the overwhelmingly positive student feedback from Ph 2, a core course in sophomore physics. By combining a clear pedagogic style with an entertaining delivery, complete with frequent anecdotes on physics and life, Hughes brings a Feynmanlike quality to the teaching of this difficult subject." The prize consists of a cash award of \$3,000 and is matched by an equivalent raise in the annual salary of the awardee; it is made possible by a gift of endowment from Caltech Associates Ione and Robert E. Paradise, "in appreciation of



James Morgan

Richard Feynman's contributions to excellent teaching."

Hideo Mabuchi, PhD '98, assistant professor of physics, and Rahul Pandharipande, associate professor of mathematics, have both been selected to receive Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowships. Each fellowship carries with it a grant of \$35,000, to be used "in a flexible and largely unrestricted manner so as to provide the most constructive possible support" of the recipient's research. Sloan recipients are selected on an extraordinarily competitive basis from a group of nominees representing the very best of young scientists.

Carver Mead '56, PhD '60, the Gordon and Betty Moore Professor of Engineering and Applied Science, has been awarded the Lemelson-MIT Prize.

James Morgan, the Marvin L. Goldberger Professor of Environmental Engineering Science, has been named the cowinner (with Werner Stumm, professor emeritus of the Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich, Switzerland) of the \$150,000 Stockholm Water Prize for 1999, awarded by the Stockholm International Water Institute for substantial contributions "to the preservation, enhancement or availability of the

world's water resources." Morgan and Stumm "have for decades been the paramount scientists" in their field, and they coauthored the book Aquatic Chemistry. Morgan has also received the National Water Research Institute's 1999 Clarke Prize; the \$50,000 award is given each year in the field of water research and technology. "Dr. Morgan's career contributions to the body of knowledge encompassing the many fields of water science and technology have been truly exemplary," according to the Clarke Prize citation.

Anneila Sargent, PhD '77, professor of astronomy and director of the Owens Valley Radio Observatory, has been elected president of the American Astronomical Society (AAS). Her term of office as president-elect begins this June, and she will serve as AAS president from June 2000 to June 2002.

Ronald Scott, the Dotty and Dick Hayman Professor of Engineering, Emeritus, has been selected to receive an Honorary Membership in the Earthquake Engineering Research Institute "for his very significant contributions to earthquake engineering."

Kerry Sieh, professor of geology, has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences.

Barry Simon, the IBM Professor of Mathematics and Theoretical Physics and executive officer for mathematics. has received the Technion-Israel Institute of Technology's highest honor, the Doctor Scientiarum Honoris Causa. The conferral took place on June 14. The honorary doctorate is in recognition of his contributions to mathematical physics in general as well as to a variety of specific fields involving quantum and spectral theory, his "influential and lucid textbooks," and his "promotion of scientific cooperation with Israel and the Technion."