

President David Baltimore accepts the 1999 National Medal of Science from President Clinton at a White House ceremony on March 14. Baltimore, one of 12 honorees, was cited "for far-reaching, fundamental discoveries that dramatically altered fields of study in virology, molecular biology and immunology, for excellence in building scientific institutions, and in fostering communication between scientists and the general public."

## RICHARD MURRAY TO CHAIR EAS DIVISION

Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering Richard M. Murray (BS '85) has been named chair of the Division of Engineering and Applied Science, replacing John Seinfeld, Nohl Professor and professor of chemical engineering, who is returning to full-time faculty and research duties after a decade as chair. The appointment becomes effective June 1.

Murrav has been a faculty member since 1991. His research interests include nonlinear control of mechanical systems with applications to aerospace vehicles and robotic locomotion, active control of fluids with applications to propulsion systems, and nonlinear dynamical systems theory. He earned his bachelor's degree with honors in electrical engineering from Caltech in 1985, and his master's and PhD in electrical engineering from the University of California at Berkeley in 1988 and 1991, respectively. Before joining the Caltech faculty, he was a visiting lecturer at Berkeley,



where he taught graduatelevel classes in robotics.

In addition to his academic work, Murray has worked as an engineer at JPL, where he worked on the Galileo spacecraft, now orbiting Jupiter. In 1998–99, he was director of mechatronic systems at the United Technologies Research Center, where he managed an embedded systems and controls technology department consisting of 80 engineers, technicians, and staff.

## HONORS AND AWARDS

Frances Arnold, Dickinson Professor of Chemical Engineering and Biochemistry, and Douglas Rees, professor of chemistry and investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences. Arnold was also elected to the National Academy of Engineering. Such election is one of the highest honors that can be accorded a U.S. scientist or engineer.

Jacqueline Barton, Hanisch Memorial Professor and professor of chemistry; Alice Huang, senior councilor for external relations and faculty associate in biology; John Seinfeld, Nohl Professor and professor of chemical engineering; and David Stevenson, Van Osdol Professor of Planetary Science, have been elected Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, an elevation granted some members "because of their efforts toward advancing science or fostering applications that are deemed scientifically or socially distinguished."

Donald Cohen, Powell Professor of Applied Mathematics, will receive Caltech's Richard P. Feynman Prize for Excellence in Teaching. The Economic History Network has selected the book *Institutional Change and American Economic Growth*, by Harkness Professor of Social Science *Lance Davis* and Douglass North, as one of the 12 most significant works in economic history published during the 20th century.

Peter Dervan, Bren Professor of Chemistry, received the 1999 Richard C. Tolman Medal of the Southern California Section of the American Chemical Society, given annually "in recognition of outstanding contributions to chemistry in Southern California."

Associate Professor of Economics *Jeffrey Dubin* has been awarded a 2000 Haynes Foundation Faculty Fellowship to assess the economic impact of the San Fernando Valley's seceding from the city of Los Angeles. The foundation makes grants for study and research in the social sciences, with emphasis on policy issues of the greater L.A. region.

Assistant Professor of Economics *Caroline Fohlin* has been selected to write the ninth annual Sanwa Monograph on International Economics and Financial Markets by the Stern School of Business, New York University.

David Goodstein, professor of physics and applied physics and Gilloon Distinguished Teaching and Service Professor and vice provost, will receive Sigma Xi's 2000 John P. McGovern Science and Society Award.

Harry Gray, Beckman Professor of Chemistry and director of the Beckman Institute, has been elected a Foreign Member of Great Britain's Royal Society for "seminal contributions to virtually every area of modern inorganic chemistry."

Robert Grubbs, Atkins Professor of Chemistry, will be awarded the Herman F. Mark Polymer Chemistry Award from the Division of Polymer Chemistry of the American Chemical Society for his outstanding achievements in research and leadership in polymer science.

Assistant Professor of Physics *Fiona Harrison* has been selected to receive a Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers.

Professor of Astronomy and Planetary Science and Executive Officer for Astronomy *Shrinivas Kulkarni* has been invited by MIT's physics department to give the David Harris Lectures for the year 2000.

Assistant Professor of Physics *Hideo Mabuchi* (PhD '98) has been chosen as an Office of Naval Research Young Investigator. He was one of 26 investigators selected from 178 applicants.

Frank Marble (AE '47, PhD '48), Hayman Professor of Mechanical Engineering and professor of jet propulsion, emeritus, will be given the 1999 Daniel Guggenheim Medal from the United Engineering Foundation "for major fundamental theoretical and experimental contributions to the fields of internal aerodynamics, combustion, and propulsion... and educating generations of leaders in industry and academia."

Professor of Biology and Executive Officer for Biology *Elliott Meyerowitz* has received the Lounsbery Award from the National Academy of Sciences.

Dianne Newman, Luce Assistant Professor of Geobiology and assistant professor of environmental engineering science, and Assistant Professor of Computer Science and Computation and Neural Systems *Erik Winfree* (PhD '98) have been selected by MIT's *Technology Review* for its list of "100 young innovators who exemplify the spirit of innovation in science, technology, business and the arts."

Associate Professor of Applied Physics *Stephen Quake* has been selected as a 1999 Packard Fellow for Science and Engineering.

Alexander Soshnikov, Taussky-Todd Instructor in Mathematics, has received the Moscow Mathematical Association's 1999 Young Mathematician's Prize, which is given to a Russian mathematician under 30 for outstanding work.

Professor of Electrical Engineering P. P. Vaidyanathan has been awarded a Golden Jubilee Medal by the Circuits and Systems Society of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.

Alexander Varshavsky, Smits Professor of Cell Biology, and Avram Hershko of the Technion–Israel Institute of Technology will share the Alfred P. Sloan, Jr., Prize, awarded by the General Motors Cancer Research Foundation, "for the discovery of the ubiquitin system for protein degradation and the crucial functions of this system in cellular regulation."

Ahmed Zewail, Nobel laureate, Pauling Professor of Chemical Physics and professor of physics, has been given the Faye Robiner Award by Ross University, New York, and has been elected a Foreign Member of The Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters.

## KIEWIET NEW DEAN OF GRADUATE STUDIES

In other administrative news, Professor of Political Science D. Roderick Kiewiet has agreed to assume the duties of the dean of graduate studies, starting July 1, 2000. Kiewiet is not unfamiliar with the territory, having previously been dean of students from 1992 to 1996. He replaces Professor of Geology and Planetary Science Arden Albee, who is stepping down after 16 years of service to devote his full attention to Mars.

