## Random Walk

## Honors and Awards

President Thomas Everhart has been named a Fellow Member of the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE), a distinction reserved for longtime society members who "have made valuable contributions to the field."

Melany Hunt, assistant professor of mechanical engineering, was awarded the Pi Tau Sigma Medal by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers to recognize her outstanding achievement within 10 years of graduation.

Barbara Imperiali, assistant professor of chemistry, has received a Camille and Henry Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award, a grant of \$60,000 to support young faculty members who are outstanding teachers as well as researchers.

Hiroo Kanamori, the Smits Professor of Geophysics and director of the Seismological Laboratory, has been named the 1993 California Scientist of the Year by the California Museum of Science and Industry.

Rudy Marcus, the Noyes Professor of Chemistry and Nobel laureate, has been elected the first Foreign Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada.

Stephen Mayo, assistant professor of biology, has been selected as a Rita Allen Foundation Scholar, an honor that includes research support of \$30,000 annually for up to five years.

David Rutledge, professor of electrical engineering, has been named a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, and he and his students have received the 1993 IEEE Microwave Prize for the best paper published in its journals.

The ASCIT Teaching Awards, recognizing extraordinary "enthusiasm, dedication, quality of teaching, and interest in students," were won this year by William Deverell, visiting assistant professor of history; Glen George, lecturer in computer science and electrical engineering; Henry Lester, professor of biology; Mary Lidstrom, professor of applied microbiology; Anthony Readhead, professor of astronomy; Hunter Snevily, Bateman Research Instructor in Mathematics; Edward Zukoski, professor of jet propulsion and mechanical engineering; and graduate teaching assistants Marcia France of chemistry and Sima Setayeshgar of physics.

The Graduate Student Council presented its first Awards of Excellence in Teaching to Jim Knowles, the Kenan Professor and professor of applied mechanics; Charles Peck, professor of physics; David Stevenson, professor of planetary sciences and division chairman; and P. P. Vaidyanathan, professor of electrical engineering.



J. Ernest "Jerry" Nunnally has been named assistant vice president and director of development and will take up his Caltech fund-raising responsibilities in October. Nunnally comes to the Institute from Harvard University, where he has been on the development staff since 1985, most recently as associate director of university development.

At Harvard, Nunnally has also held the positions of director of school relations and director of corporations and foundations. Previously he had worked at Dartmouth College, Continental Illinois National Bank, and Dillard University. Nunnally received his BA in 1969 from Dillard and a master's of education degree from Harvard in 1984.